Upper Egypt

Upper Egypt

    Upper Egypt
    Upper Egypt (Arabic: صعيد مصر Sa'id Misr) is the strip of land,on both sides of the Nile valley, that extends from the cataract boundaries of modern-day Aswan north to the area between El-Ayait and Zawyet Dahshur (which is south of modern-day Cairo). 

    The northern section of Upper Egypt, between El-Ayait and Sohag is sometimes known as Middle Egypt. 

    The designation Upper Egypt is most frequently used as adivision for Ancient Egypt. Modern inhabitants of Upper Egypt are known as Sa'idis; they generally speak Sa'idi Arabic. 

    Upper Egypt was known as Ta Shemau . which means "the land of reeds.  

    It was divided into twenty-two districts called nomes. The first nome was roughly where modern Aswan is and the twenty-second was at modern Atfih (Aphroditopolis), just to the south of Cairo.
    Wael Elyamani
    @Posted by
    writer and blogger, founder of CTV Egypt News .

    Post a Comment