In Kosovo, four deputies were given a suspended sentence for spraying tear gas in the parliament
In Kosovo, four opposition deputies were sentenced to suspended prison terms of 15 to 18 months for obstructing the work of parliament - legislators sprayed tear gas in parliament, Reuters reports.

Deputies in 2015 and 2016 sprayed tear gas in the parliament in protest against the border agreement with Montenegro and the agreement with Serbia, signed by the EU.

"They violated the law by using weapons or dangerous items," Judge Bekir Kaludra said.

It is about the leader of the opposition party Albina Kurti and the three members of the party.

The accused will not go to jail unless they repeat the crime for the next two years. In turn, the defendants did not appear at the hearing, where they read out the verdict. They said that the court's decision was politically motivated.

The agency notes that 11 more MPs with similar charges are waiting for their verdicts.

It should be noted that the numerous tear gas dispersals in the Kosovo parliament with the aim of disrupting the ratification of agreements with Belgrade on the formation of the Community of Serbian Communities (MTR) with autonomy rights and Podgorica on demarcation with Montenegro were in most cases arranged by the deputies of "Self-determination".

Recall that the agreement on the demarcation of borders with Montenegro was prepared as early as 2015, but the opposition said that the document gives back to Kosovo territory and several times broke the vote.

As previously reported, People's Deputy Levchenko lit a smoke bomb at a session of the Verkhovna Rada during a vote for the law on reintegration of Donbass. He admitted this personally, speaking from the parliamentary rostrum.

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.