Kuwait, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Netherlands, Peru and Poland officially join the UN Security Council
Six countries - Kuwait, Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, the Netherlands, Peru and Poland - formally joined the UN Security Council on Tuesday as non-permanent members.

"Peace and security are not easy," Kazakh Ambassador to the UN Khairat Umarov said during an unprecedented ceremony at his request at UN headquarters. "You will have a real opportunity to make the difference."

On the impact, ambassadors of the six countries - five men and one woman, Ambassador of Poland Yuanna Frunica - placed their flags among the flags of the other nine members of the Council at the entrance to the conference hall.

The Security Council has 15 members, including five permanent veto-wielding members - the United States, Russia, China, France and Britain.

The current 15 ambassadors are three women and 12 men. In addition to US Ambassador Nicky Hailey and her Polish counterpart, who joined the UN forum on Tuesday, the new British ambassador to the United Nations, Karen Pearce, will arrive in January.

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.